Types of Government Specifications.


Government Specifications fit into two categories:

  • Federal Specifications:
    These cover materials, products or services used by more then two federal agencies. They are issued by the General Services Administration (GSA) and must be used by all federal agencies. Federal specifications can be obtained at or from your local PTAC.
  • Military Specifications:
    These cover items or services that are intrinsically military in character or commercial items modified to meet special requirements of the military. They are distributed by Naval Publications and Forms Center (NPFC), located in Philadelphia, PA. NPFC stocks and issues Department of Defense printed and digital matter without charge to federal agencies and the general public. Documents distributed by NPFC include military specifications and standards, federal specifications and standards, Qualified Product Lists (QPLs), Military Handbooks, and Departmental Documents. Here again, many PTACs offer military specifications and standards as a part of their services to their clients.

Getting the Correct Government Specifications for your project.














Images displayed on this site - which are not the property of FSSI - are courtesy of our friends, family and customers as well as the U.S. Department of Defense.
All rights reserved.
 Copy and or republication is not authorized without express written permission.
 Copyright � 2007. All rights reserved

Government Contracts

Site Map